904 #15
Add to cart
  • Description
  • More




Tiktaalik Playful, down-to earth, unpretentious: tiktaalik tears down the
boundaries of traditional genres and develops a mutual understanding for the
strengths of each musician during their collective creative process. Tiktaalik
embarks on a spirited journey outlined by highly energetic and intriguing melodies
and rhythms as well as soft-spoken, delicate passages.
Their elaborate compositional work leaves room for a common effort in arranging
their pieces and combining uneven rhythms with complex harmonious structures in
order to highlight the sound language of the quartet. This combination of varied
musical stylistics and improvisational freedom defines tiktaalik.
The band is composed of Oliver Marec playing the saxophone, Clemens Rofner on
double bass, drummer Simon Springer and pianist Luca Zambito. Every member of
tiktaalik finds his place in the multi-layered identity of the band as they create a
play that ties a knot with the name of the band. Tiktaalik is the Inuit word for
freshwater fish. The Tiktaalik played a big role in evolution, as it represented the
transition of the animal from the water on to land.
In 2015 the saxophone player Oliver Marec founded tiktaalik with the goal to
combine traditional and modern elements of Jazz.
Inspired by the onomatopoetic sound of the name, the band also represents the
basic idea of the evolution – one cannot come to a standstill while seeking new
melodic and rhythmic ideas..

Oliver Marec alto and soprano sax, comp
Luca Zambito piano, comp
Clemens Rofner bass
Simon Springer drums