Matthias Löscher Quartet

Add to cart
  • Description
  • More



Matthias Löscher lives and works as a guitarist in Vienna.
His compositions, which are played by the quartet, are strongly influenced by the younger New York jazz scene. All four band members regularly travel to New York.
This linking element meets compositional ideas from classical music up to contemporary (classical) music (from Bach to Pärt) several parts of European Jazz (ECM, ACT…) as well as ideas from electronic music.

Influenced by these different elements the quartet creates its own unique musical language.

Besides Matthias Löscher, the quartet features:

Christoph ‘Pepe’ Auer: alto sax, bass clarinet
(winner of the Hans Koller Preis 2006-New York scholarship)

Matthias Pichler: bass
(worked with: Wolfgang Muthspiel Trio, Harry Sokal, Jochen Rückert, Marc Copland,…)

Peter Kronreif: drums
(worked with: Peter O’Mara, Harry Sokal, Martin Reiter,…)