753 #92
EAN: 9005216007530

Isabel Santol with Julian Joseph

  • Description
  • More Details
London Affairs

 

     

 

Lineup

ISABEL SANTOL vocals
JULIAN JOSEPH piano
MARK HODGSON bass
PAUL CLARVIS drums (1 2 4 5 7 8 11 12 13 ) percussion ( 9 )

 

It is wonderful to find that singer Isabel Santol’s 2008 journey to the heart of love has proved to be so much more than a one-night stand. Her album of that year, The Love Recordings (ATS-Records 0669), provided fresh new interpretations of nine American Songbook classics of yearning and love. Alternating between a titillating coolness and melancholic worldly wisdom, she liberated these classics from the kitsch that so often mars their performance

and illuminated their innermost core: their devotion to love. This made the songs shine anew and earned her critical acclaim.

 

Now, three years later, it has become apparent how far this passion has got under her skin. Her songs of love have progressed into a full-blown affair. Fittingly, her newest album is entitled London Affairs (ATS-Records 0753) and it is even spicier – 14 tracks, running over 50 minutes,  self-produced in England. Once again, Isabel Santol succeeds at making over–familiar classics like Puttin’ On the Ritz, La Vie En Rose and Blue Moon worth revisiting. Not because her interpretations are radically new, but because of her belief in the power of tradition, so that her interpretations are classic rather than eccentric.

 

Appropriately, this Austrian jazz singer has invited musicians who are highly regarded throughout England into her studio. Julian Joseph at the piano merges jazz and classical music. Since 1991 he has recorded four albums, played alongside various bands and hosted jazz shows for both television and radio in Great Britain. His piano drives the music of this album, as does the rhythm section's breezy mix. It consists of bassist Mark Hodgson (Jamie Cullum, Bill Bruford, Randy Brecker, Matthew Herbert among others) and drummer Paul Clarvis (Mick Jagger, Annie Lennox, Terence Blanchard, Michel Legrand, Michael Nyman, Hugh Masekela, The Orb and others). This top-class trio creates a suspenseful space marked by a clarity of sound in which Santol transverses the heights and depths of each melody with a sparkling gracefulness.

 

If these are, as Santol claims, her “jazz bar classics,” then such finely crafted standards certainly do not belong in cellar bars. London Affairs belongs in elegant lounges where jingling jewels replace polite applause. (And for those wanting more, a bonus track of Cole Porter’s ‚Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye’ is available for download!) The package is complete. London Affairs is vocal proof of a time-tested and continuous love for the art of song.

 

Harald Justin, Music Publicist, Vienna, October 2011

 

Track Listing:

 

01. Sentimental Journey  (3:26)

02. Lover Man   (4:37)

03. Just a Gigolo  (4:06)

04. Puttin' On the Ritz  (3:29)

05. Too Darn Hot  (2:44)

06. La Vie En Rose  (4:27)

07. Blue Moon  (4:27)

08. Honeysuckle Rose (3:14)

09. Tea For Two  (2:58)

10. Blue Velvet  (5:16)

11. After You Get What You Want  (3:11)

12. That Old Black Magic  (3:00)

13. Lili Marleen (German)  (3:11)

14. Lili Marleen (English) (3:23)

753 #92
EAN: 9005216007530

Isabel Santol with Julian Joseph

  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr Details ...
London Affairs

 

     

 

Lineup

ISABEL SANTOL vocals
JULIAN JOSEPH piano
MARK HODGSON bass
PAUL CLARVIS drums (1 2 4 5 7 8 11 12 13 ) percussion ( 9 )

 

Welch ein Glück – es war kein One-Night-Stand, kein einmaliger Ausrutscher, mit dem die Sängerin Isabel Santol im Jahr 2008 der Liebe auf den Grund ging. Ihr damaliges Album hieß The Love Recordings (ATS-Records 0669) und bestand aus neun Durchgängen durch das American Songbook, bei denen sie Klassiker der Sehnsucht und Liebe regelrecht dekonstruierte. Zwischen erotischer Coolness und melancholisch anmutender Lebensweisheit changierend, legte sie die ansonsten oftmals von Kitsch überzogenen Songbook-Schmankerln frei und brachte ihren innersten Kern, den der Hingabe an die Liebe, wieder zum Glühen. Dafür gab es ausdrückliches Kritikerlob.

 

Drei Jahre später zeigt sich nun, wie sehr diese Liebe unter die Haut ging. Die Liebeslieder haben sich zu einer regelrechten Affäre ausgewachsen. Folgerichtig heißt ihr aktuelles, von der Sängerin selbst in England produziertes Album, London Affairs (ATS-Records 0753), und es prickelt hübscher denn je,  aufregende 14 mal und über 50 Minuten lang, um genau zu sein! Denn erneut gelingt es Isabel Santol, eigentlich bis zum Überdruss bekannte Klassiker der Songschreiberkunst wie „Puttin’ On the Ritz“, „La Vie En Rose oder “Blue Moon“ wieder hörbar zu machen. Nicht, weil sie radikal neu interpretiert werden. Stattdessen setzt die Sängerin ganz auf die Kraft der Tradition und einer nicht exzentrischen, sondern eher klassisch anmutenden Interpretation.

 

Dementsprechend hat sich die österreichische Jazzerin Mitmusiker ausgesucht, die in England Höchstachtung genießen: Mit Julian Joseph sitzt ein Mann am Piano, der gleichermaßen Jazz und Klassik in seinem Werk vereinigt. In Großbritannien hat er seit 1991 vier Alben herausgebracht, er spielt mit verschiedenen Bandprojekten, moderierte Jazz-Sendungen für TV und Radio. Sein Spiel trägt die Musik dieses Albums ebenso wie das luftige Miteinander der Rhythmusgruppe mit dem Bassisten Mark Hodgson (u.a. Jamie Cullum, Bill Bruford, Randy Brecker, Matthew Herbert) und dem Drummer Paul Clarvis (u.a. Mick Jagger, Annie Lennox, Terence Blanchard, Michel Legrand, Michael Nyman, Hugh Masekela, The Orb). Das hochkarätige Triospiel steht im Zeichen klanglicher Transparenz, es entstehen spannungsvolle Freiräume, die es der Sängerin ermöglichen, die melodiösen Höhen und Tiefen der Songs mit kristalliner Grazie zu durchmessen.

 

Wenn das, wie die Sängerin sagt, ihre 'Jazz Bar Classics' sind dann gehören diese so elegant aufbereiteten Standards aber nicht in die Kellerbars, wo Musik nur der Unterhaltung dient. London Affairs gehört in die eleganten Lounges, in denen man statt Beifall zu klatschen leise mit den Juwelen klimpert. (Wer sich dann noch nicht satt gehört hat, kann noch zusätzlich den Cole-Porter-Song „Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye’ als Bonus Track downloaden!).

 

Genau so stimmt dann das Gesamtpaket: London Affairs ist der klingende Beweis für die Fortsetzung einer Liebe zu den Perlen der Songschreibekunst mit anderen, bewährten Mitteln.

 

Harald Justin, Musik-Publizist, Wien, Oktober 2011

 

Track Listing:

 

01. Sentimental Journey  (3:26)

02. Lover Man   (4:37)

03. Just a Gigolo  (4:06)

04. Puttin' On the Ritz  (3:29)

05. Too Darn Hot  (2:44)

06. La Vie En Rose  (4:27)

07. Blue Moon  (4:27)

08. Honeysuckle Rose (3:14)

09. Tea For Two  (2:58)

10. Blue Velvet  (5:16)

11. After You Get What You Want  (3:11)

12. That Old Black Magic  (3:00)

13. Lili Marleen (German)  (3:11)

14. Lili Marleen (English) (3:23)