744 #91
EAN: 9005216007448

Saxofour + Maria João

  • Description
  • More Details

Cinco

 

       

The connection of voice and saxophone always has a little bit amusing in itself. Whether Astrud Gilberto - Stan Getz or Nancy Wilson - Cannonball Adderley, it were always legendary combinations.

Quite an other kind of the connection is the meeting of Saxofour, the Austrian ensemble of saxophonistischer blessedness, and Maria Joao, vocal virtuoso, however, also of Portuguese romantic. Maria Joao is as it were the fifth voice of the verstimmlicht become Reed - quartet.

The programme exists of a careful choice of Maria Jo ã o's songs which were orchestrated warily for 4 saxophones or flutes and clarinets, and from original the compositions of Saxofour which were written especially for this project.

Besides, are if one knows Saxofour, the compositions, as usual, also with pleasure "start ramps" for the improvisatorische high-altitude flights with which Maria with a marvellous self-image links up. An essential factor of the mutual understanding is of course the joy and the humor with and in the music.

SAXOFOUR

The ideal combination of grooving, genuineness, mind and virtuosity with which also the humor does not come too briefly. Four individualists who submit logically to a unity, and at the highest musical level. Four most asked saxophonists between Scheibbs and Nebraska.Press comments:

   
 With Wolfgang Puschnig in the old saxophone to one of the jazz signboards of Austria and co-founders of the "Vienna kind of Orchestra"" to two present tape members Florian Bramböck (Old and tenor-baritone saxophone), Klaus Dickbauer (Alt-Baritonsaxophon/Baßklarinctte) and Christian Maurer also disposing of rich jazz and classical period experience. (Soprano and tenor saxophone) four important musicians of the Austrian jazz scene have met to add a new typical version to this area of ensembles. This plan can be looked meanwhile as successful. In spite of hardly to be co-ordinated appointment plans they have found since the foundation of SAXOFOUR (1992) times at least once a year for appearances of the quartet, the finishing is in spontaneous reacting on each other clearly herauszuhören. Own compositions (e.g.m Bramböcks "series more incomprehensibly of new countries") change with arrangement so-called "classic" (possibly from Strayhorn). They avoid by the huge number of duets (often between old saxophone and baritone saxophone) otherwise throughout used on a continuing basis tiresome - quartet sound, her own compositions often remind of films resident in New York from the area of "Screwball Comedies" which are reflected in the speeding up, fine-co-ordinated varying pulse. (direct)
 

Four top musicians from the saxophonist's squad meet for a long time to a begleitlosen quartet. "SAXOFOUR" is the very well successful answer of Austria to the already unclear number of international saxophone quartets. Like the other ensembles of this genre also lives "SAXOFOUR" on the high individuality of his musicians. Apart from an unconventional arrangement about "Boblicity" stand only own compositions in the programme. They. have stimulative effect and irritate the musicians too wildly of expressive Solistik. Always appear or also several instruments, which to themselves with rhythmical reef darunterlegen. Immediately whether lyrical subjects or Up are announced to tempos, always the musicians swing to dynamic turbulence with play joke and insane inspirations on. (krone)
 

Saxophone quartets have in the jazz meanwhile already tradition. Four most put a tread and vocal-strongest saxophonists embody contribution of Austria from that point of view, under the eagle with the project name "SAXOFOUR". "Straying horns" is her motto. Appropriately, because her versatility she can be maintained in the most various play situations. From projects of new music about free improvisation, travelling by the music of the world to there to the fact that they lent her voice the Austro - pop when this still had profile. They play this experience in this blower's enterprise capably. (n/a)

744 #91
EAN: 9005216007448

Saxofour + Maria João

  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr Details ...

Cinco

 

       

Die Verbindung von Stimme und Saxophon hat seit jeher etwas faszinierendes an sich. Ob Astrud Gilberto ­ Stan Getz oder Nancy Wilson ­ Cannonball Adderley, es waren immer legendäre Kombinationen.

Eine ganz andere Art der Verbindung ist das Treffen von Saxofour, dem österreichischen Ensemble saxophonistischer Glückseligkeit, und Maria Joao, Stimmvirtuosin aber auch portugiesischer Romantikerin. Maria Joao ist gleichsam die fünfte Stimme des verstimmlicht gewordenen Reed - Quartettes.

Das Programm besteht aus einer sorgfältigen Auswahl von Maria João´s Songs, die behutsam für 4 Saxophone bzw. Flöten und Klarinetten instrumentiert wurden, und aus original Kompositionen von Saxofour, die speziell für dieses Projekt geschrieben wurden.

Dabei sind, wenn man Saxofour kennt, die Kompositionen wie immer auch gerne "Startrampen" für improvisatorische Höhenflüge, in die sich Maria mit einem herrlichen Selbstverständnis einklinkt. Ein wesentlicher Faktor des gegenseitigen Verständnisses ist natürlich die Freude und der Humor mit und in der Musik. 
 

SAXOFOUR

Die ideale Kombination von Groove, Originalität, Geist und Virtuosität, bei der auch der Humor nicht zu kurz kommt. Vier Individualisten, die sich logisch zu einer Einheit fügen, und das auf höchstem musikalischen Niveau. Vier der gefragtesten Saxophonisten zwischen Scheibbs und Nebraska. 
  
Pressestimmen:

Mit Wolfgang Puschnig am Altsaxophon einem der Jazz-Aushängeschilder Österreichs und Mitbegründer des "Vienna Art Orchestra"" zwei derzeitigen Bandmitgliedern Florian Bramböck (Alt-/Tenor-Baritonsaxophon), Klaus Dickbauer (Alt-Baritonsaxophon/Baßklarinctte) und dem ebenfalls über reiche Jazz- und Klassikerfahrung verfügenden Christian Maurer. (Sopran- und Tenorsaxophon) haben sich vier wichtige Musiker der österreichischen Jazzszene zusammengefunden, um diesem Bereich von Ensembles eine neue charakteristische Version hinzuzufügen. Dieses Vorhaben kann mittlerweile als geglückt betrachtet werden. Trotz schwer zu koordinierender Terminpläne haben sie seit der Gründung von SAXOFOUR (1992) zumindest einmal jährlich Zeit für Auftritte des Quartetts gefunden, ist der Feinschliff im spontanen Reagieren aufeinander klar herauszuhören. Eigene Kompositionen (z. B. Bramböcks "Serie unverständlicher neuer Länder") wechseln mit Arrangements sogenannter "Klassiker" (etwa von Strayhorn). Sie vermeiden durch die Vielzahl von Duetten (häufig zwischen Alt- und Baritonsaxophon) den ansonsten durchwegs verwendeten auf Dauer ermüdenden - Quartettklang, ihre Eigenkompositionen erinnern vielfach an in New York beheimatete Filme aus dem Bereich der "Screwball Comedies", die sich im vorantreibenden, feinabgestimmten wechselnden Puls widerspiegeln. (nachrichten)
 

Vier Topmusiker aus der Saxophonistenriege treffen sich seit längerem zu einem begleitlosen Quartett. "SAXOFOUR" ist die bestens gelungene Antwort Österreichs auf die bereits unüberschaubare Anzahl internationaler Saxophonquartette. Wie die anderen Ensembles dieses Genres lebt auch "SAXOFOUR" von der hohen Individualität seiner Musiker. Abgesehen von einem eigenwilligen Arrangement über "Boblicity" stehen nur Eigenkompositionen am Programm. Sie. haben stimulierende Wirkung und reizen die Musiker zu wild expressiver Solistik. Immer finden sich ein oder auch mehrere Instrumente, die sich mit rhythmischen Riffs darunterlegen. Gleich ob lyrische Themen oder Up Tempos angesagt sind, immer schaukeln sich die Musiker zu dynamischen Turbulenzen mit Spielwitz und aberwitzigen Einfällen auf.  (krone)
 

Saxophonquartette haben im Jazz mittlerweile auch schon Tradition. Österreichs Beitrag dahingehend, verkörpern vier der profiliertesten und stimmkräftigsten Saxophonisten unter dem Adler mit dem Projektnamen "SAXOFOUR". "Streunende Hörner" lautet ihr Motto. Treffend, denn ihre Vielseitigkeit ließ sie sich in diversesten Spielsituationen behaupten. Von Projekten Neuer Musik über freie Improvisation, Reisen durch die Musik der Welt bis hin dazu, dass sie ihre Stimme dem Austro - Pop liehen, als dieser noch Profil hatte. Diesen Erfahrungsschatz spielen sie in diesem Bläserunternehmen gekonnt aus. (n/a)