673 #102

Valdinho Langer, Wolfgang Puschnig, Karl Schaupp

  • Description
  • More Details
the bright path

 

       

Lineup:

valdinho langer...guitars
wolfgang puschnig...altosax,flute
karl schaupp...piano
 

while the cast for the latest three cds (”fragments of a journey”, “variety”, “some of us”) ranged from solo to quintet, “the bright path” - as far as instrumentation is concerned - is a not quite conventional trio performance with wolfgang and karl, to whom I owe a lot in my musical life. the idea for this indeed came very playfully, and after some concerts, one of which was broadcast by radio oe1, we set out for the studio with it.

 

“song for everyone” and “song for prakash”

are dedicated to the memory of my late friend, the tabla virtuoso prakash maharaj (see also “fragments of a journey”, “variety”). at the time I had recorded shankar’s beautiful composition “song for everyone” with prakash. here it has found a different tone. “song for prakash” is a new composition, recorded here for the first time.

“pusan“

what’s intriguing about “pusan” (from “fragments”) is that wolfgang was already part of it then, in a trio together with percussionist milton cardona. we are back with it here, slight alterations and the piano creating a new sound pattern.

“little chamber music”

(from “fragments” too) has developed from a fragile solo to a more fully voiced experience of sound.

“tico” and “so pra mim”

a waltz and a choro, bow deeply to pixinguinha, one of the truly great of the rich brazilian tradition.

“für wolfgang”

is karl’s intimate dedication to wolfgang, the only piece here to deviate from the trio formation.

“tierra caliente”

gives three cheers to the spanish latin american tradition, a passion of mine that’s here to stay.

“regenzeit”

is meant to let imagination take its course, an hommage to the tropics and their wasteful abundance.

“cuando sali de cuba”

I heard “cuando sali de cuba” for the first time in the 60ies as a popsong by the tremeloes (“once on a sunday morning”). this simple, heart-warming song actually originated in cuba. wolfgang has given it the ennoblement it deserves.

673 #102

Valdinho Langer, Wolfgang Puschnig, Karl Schaupp

  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr Details ...
the bright path

 

       

Valdinho Langer, Gitarren

Wolfgang Puschnig, Altsax, Flöte

Karl Schaupp, Klavier

 

nach den jeweils abwechselnden besetzungen der letzten drei alben („fragments of a journey“, „variety“, „some of us“) von solo bis quintett ist „the bright path“ eine von der instrumentierung nicht ganz herkömmliche trio-einspielung mit wolfgang und karl, denen ich in meinem musikalischen leben sehr viel verdanke. die idee dafür kam im wahrsten sinn des wortes ganz spielerisch, und nach einigen konzerten (eines davon wurde auch von radio oe1 gesendet) gingen wir damit ins studio. 

 

„song for everyone“ und „song for prakash“

sind dem andenken an meinen verstorbenen freund, den tabla virtuosen prakash maharaj, gewidmet(siehe „fragments of a journey“, „variety“).“song for everyone“, die wunderschöne shankar-komposition, hatte ich damals im duo mit prakash aufge­nommen. sie bekommt hier natürlich eine andere note. „song for prakash“ ist eine neue komposition, erstmals aufgenommen.

„pusan“

das reizvolle an „pusan“ (vom „fragments“-album) ist, dass wolfgang auch damals dabei war, im trio mit percussionist milton cardona. kleine änderungen und das klavier lassen wiederum ein neues klangbild entstehen.

„little chamber music“

hat sich von einem fragilen solostück, ebenfalls auf dem „fragments“-album, zu einem volleren klangerlebnis weiterentwickelt.

„tico“ und „so pra mim“

ein walzer und ein choro, sind eine tiefe verbeugung vor pixinguinha, einem der wirklich großen der so reichen brasilianischen musiktradition.

„für wolfgang“

ist eine intime widmung karls für wolfgang, die einzige abweichung von der trio-besetzung.

„tierra caliente“

lässt die spanisch-lateinamerikanische tradition hochleben, eine passion, die mich wohl mein ganzes leben begleiten wird.

„regenzeit“

soll der phantasie freien lauf lassen, eine hommage an die tropen mit ihrer verschwenderischen üppigkeit.

„cuando sali de cuba“

habe ich das erste mal in den 60igern als popsong („once on a sunday morning“ von den tremeloes)gehört. dieses simple, aber herzerwärmende lied stammt in wahrheit aus kuba und erfährt hier durch wolfgang die veredelung, die es sich verdient hat.